An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Commander J. Greg Gabriel

Cmdr. J. Greg Gabriel, a native of Atlanta, Georgia, is a 2002 graduate of the University of Georgia where he earned a Bachelor of Business Administration in Management Information Systems. He commissioned as an intelligence officer in May 2003 from Officer Candidate School. In 2012, he earned a Master of Science (with distinction) in Information Technology Management from the Naval Postgraduate School.

His operational tours include: Strike Fighter Squadron (VFA) 115, embarked aboard USS Ronald Reagan (CVN 76) where he deployed in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom; Navy Expeditionary Intelligence Command leading intelligence exploitation teams deployed to Naval Forces Europe/Naval Forces Africa and U.S. Pacific Fleet; and as the USS Carl Vinson (CVN 70) intelligence department head during an eight month deployment supporting operations across the Pacific, earning the 2021 Excellence in Intelligence and Cryptology Award as the fleet’s best CVN.

Ashore, Gabriel served at Strike Fighter Squadron (VFA) 122 as threat platforms instructor; Chief of Naval Operations Intelligence Plot as senior briefer; U.S. Indo-Pacific Command (INDOPACOM) Joint Intelligence Operations Center as China division operations officer, Navy element executive officer, and executive assistant to the INDOPACOM J2; and Navy Personnel Command/Bureau of Naval Personnel as junior intelligence officer detailer and intelligence officer community manager.

Commander Gabriel assumed command of Information Warfare Training Command San Diego in June 2022.

He is qualified as an information warfare officer. In addition to multiple personal, unit, and campaign awards, he is also the recipient of the 2016 Rear Admiral Edwin T. Layton Award for Leadership and Mentorship.

Last Updated: 6 July 2022

Guidance-Card-Icon Dept-Exclusive-Card-Icon